Project-Based Learning Reflection

1-25-2016

Post a reflection regarding your research this week on Project-Based Learning. What were you able to find? How do you think PBL will fit into your teaching style? Do you have an idea for a project? If so, begin articulating it now.

I have have been impressed with project-based learning while also having many questions. I think that is genius to get the students to create more. It gives them a chance to be involved in things that they can enjoy while also learning. All the while I am typing this there are thoughts running through my head that I hope are answered through the semester.

How is it possible to get exact desired outcomes when projects are so widespread?  How is a teacher able to keep track of everything that is happening? When is the teacher assured that all students have learned the required information?

I think there are many ways that I will introduce project-based learning into my teaching. At first I didn’t think I would be able to use it at all because I am a teacher in a religious class and not a math or social studies teacher. I have a pretty strict curriculum, but I have been looking to see how I might be able to fit that information into a project instead of just a lesson. There are so many ways that my students could study real life problems and add concepts taught in the scriptures to help them understand. I have found in a way we already do just that.

That’s why when I started looking at projects I got to thinking. Family relationships are a number one priority in the LDS church. We are always trying to get people to be interested in family history. As I started thinking about a project the idea to do family history popped into my mind. I am now so excited. I am interested in doing my own project. I have also realized that there is not just one outcome to be had in a PBL project. I am thinking that I am going to try it out with my students and see what happens. They get so much more when they are creating without me having to be in the driver’s seat.

I am excited to be starting this class and hope through this journey I will gain a greater understanding of how to prepare my students for the future.


Leave a comment