Real-Time Chat

In Edtech 521 we were asked to go online and set up a real time chat. I am amazed that I had never actually done this before. At least not in an educational setting. I have used Skype and other tools to converse, but have never really seen a real use, until now, about using it for things other than conversing.

I actually set up a meeting with my Edtech 502 teacher. As I was adding my web pages I accidentally placed them in the wrong file pattern. This caused everything in the server to be off. We used Google Hangouts. I answered the call when she called over and the process began. We talked for a minute to see if we could fix it and when we couldn’t she asked me to share my screen with her. As I shared my screen she was able to see everything that I was doing. As she did this it made it so much easier to communicate. I wasn’t just explaining what I saw because she could actually see it. It didn’t take her long to see what the problem was. With the great directions and some new knowledge on my part we were able to fix the problem.

I was absolutely amazed by what I saw. I have now started to use this program in my own teaching. It gives me the opportunity to speak to my student’s parents in a while new way. I am grateful for how they make these programs user friendly so people like me can use them in my everyday doings.


Leave a comment